About the Board of Library Trustes

The Uxbridge Free Public Library is governed by a 12-member Board of Library Trustees. The Board develops and maintains library policies, crafts and approves the budget request to the Town, and administers the Library Trust Fund. Six seats are elected, and the other six are appointed "Life" Trustee seats. Elected trustees serve three years, unless filling a vacancy.

The Board of Library Trustees was established by Edward M. Thayer in 1893 when he donated the Thayer Memorial Building to the Town of Uxbridge to be used as a public library.

Meetings are held every third Tuesday of the month, except in July. All meetings are open to the public unless otherwise stated.

The Board welcomes your input regarding all library activities, collections and policies. Correspondence may be sent to the library in care of Mark Francis. 

Learn More:

Meeting agendas and minutes are available on the Town of Uxbridge website.

The MBLC's Trustee Handbook is a great resource to learn more about the roles and responsibilities of Library Trustees.

Life Trustees

Mark E. Francis - Chair
Judith Lynch - Vice Chair
Cristina Silva - Treasurer
Ellen B. Kroll - Life Trustee
MaryJo Murray - Life Trustee
Mark Wickstrom - Life Trustee

Elected Trustees

Mary Anderson - Secretary (exp. 2026)
Lisa Bertonazzi - Elected Trustee  (exp. 2024)
Sarah Burke - Elected Trustee  (exp. 2024)
Sylvia Ann Fields - Elected Trustee  (exp. 2026)
Allison Lurie - Elected Trustee  (exp. 2025)
Jackie Wheelock - Elected Trustee (exp. 2024)